Custard Sauce

Custard Sauce

What better way than a delicious Custard Sauce to flavor your breakfast and relaunch this blog?

I do apologize but this little Hobbit had to take a very unexpected trip outside the Shire to the land where Romans used to roam once upon a time… One thing I was reminded off is, that Italians have some very cool customs of their own when it comes to food and drink. One very specific one is coffee, and there are as many varieties to take one as there are meals for Hobbits; First Breakfast is definitely Espresso, Second Breakfast will have a creamy Cappuccino of course, while Elevensies would be an Espresso Martini of some kind as aperitif. Luncheon will end in a quick Macchiato and Tea is a must have Affogato al Cafe’ ( ice coffee Italian style with vanilla ice cream). Dinner is serving a Tiramisu for dessert and Supper will end the day with a Cafe’ Corretto, namely an espresso with a shot of Grappa or Schnaps ore something of that kind… So all in all I think Bilbo and Frodo would approve.

Back to our business of Shire cookery then.

As I said, this recipe is very decadent and suits itself to indulge a little extra sweetness for cakes, cookies and fruit. My cat was trying to get some too, it could smell the cream and came to investigate.

Again a super easy and quick way to give your day a pick me up in the most delicious way. I do love the taste of the brandy in it and even though I made only half the recipe I still kept the full spoon of brandy in it…

Leave a comment