Overnight Porridge

Overnight Porridge

Second Breakfast has knocked on my kitchen door today.

This Overnight Porridge was another super easy and simple meal to prepare. I enhanced mine with butter, raspberry jam, chopped almonds and a touch of cinnamon. It was a very sweet affair.

If anyone has the book and is wondering why I did not make the rustic sausages, it’s because I have to find beef suet, one of the ingredients, and it seems that it is not as readily available as it is in England, so I am doing some research on it. Hopefully I’ll have it soon to go back and make the sausages.

In the meantime I will continue my quest of good Hobbit fare or I might throw in some completely different fantasy world food to mix it up a bit.

One thing I certainly found out for me is, that I am not really a porridge kind of girl, no matter how sweet the toppings are. Don’t get me wrong, it was very tasty porridge, but I find it too mild and boring for my own taste. I am looking forward to the scones on the next page though…

So, on I go with more Shire food, tune in next week for something yummy.

Leave a comment